41st Infantry Battalion troopers receive award

FORT BONIFACIO, Taguig City – The members of the Philippine Army’s 41st Infantry Battalion, 5th Infantry Division received awards on September 13, Saturday, for their successful campaign against communist insurgency in the province of Abra.<!–more–>

Army Chief Lt Gen Hernando DCA Iriberri conferred the Gold Cross Medal, Bronze Cross Medal, Wounded Personnel Medal, and Military Merit Medal to the elements of the 41st Infantry Battalion who engaged in an encounter with undetermined number of armed New People’s Army (NPA) rebels in Brgy. Guinguinabang and Brgy. Poblacion, Lacub Abra on September 4.

The Gold Cross Medals were awarded to 2Lt Joe Mari S Landicho, the head of the operating troops, and to Cpt Deo R Martinez, the Operations Officer of 41st IB.

Lt Col Rogelio Noora, the Commanding Officer of 41st IB was conferred with the Bronze Cross Medal.

The Wounded Personnel Medal, on the other hand, were given to Cpl Gilbert Baawa, PFC James Erickson P Danao, and PFC Randy Saayan, while the other members of the operating troops received Military Merit Medals.

Eight NPA rebels died in the said encounter, while another was captured. The Army troops also recovered 15 firearms, including M653 rifles, M14 rifle, M16 rifles, AK47, Garand and Cal .45 Pistol.

This successful operation caused a major setback to the ranks of the NPA, and contributed immensely to the accomplishment of the AFP’s mission as embodied in the Internal Peace and Security Plan (IPSP) Bayanihan.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: